Hey guys this is my second steelhead on today

Hey guys this is my second steelhead on today

A first Sol Duc Steelhead for Alex Shanks
A first Sol Duc Steelhead for Alex Shanks

  I had the pleasure of fishing with a long time friend and his sons over the last few days.  We fished plugs on the Sol Duc in search of some wild Olympic Peninsula Steehead.  Rory and Alex both caught their first steelhead, nice bright bucks and hens.  We teathered the fish for our Snider Creek hatchery program.  The rivers have been slow to clear, and plugs proved to be the best choice for the fishing.  I would expect the fishing to improve with the cold weather and dropping water conditions.  The Hoh should produce well if it will drop into fishable conditions, usually 2000cfs or less.  I will add some photos of the trip in a little while.

I think I can, I think I can

I think I can, I think I can

20lbs or 20"  The first Steelhead is most memorable

20lbs or 20" The first Steelhead is most memorable

Alex with a little help from Dad, thats number two for me

Alex with a little help from Dad, thats number two for me

 

 

Capt. Matt

Leave a Reply

