Seattle Fishing, Gearing up for Ling Cod

Posted: April 20, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

  Here are some tips and techniques for finding Ling Cod in the Sound.  Lings provide a very exciting fishery during the month of May and June.  Knowing their habitat and forage is key to finding these tasty hard fighting fish.

  1.  Structure,  think Rocks, Wrecks, and Reefs.  Man made or natural.  Ling Cod love to have places they can hide, weather it be a rock bulkhead, an old wreck or some good contour on a reef.  Marina breakwaters, are great areas to hunt the Lings. 

  2.  Forage,  Lings eat just about anything they can get their mouths around, I prefer to fish live bait.  The more flash and wiggle the better.   This for me entails jigging for live Herring, Flounder, and Shiner Perch.  Shiners are one of my top baits and will usually find the most educated Lings.  

  3.  Water depth.  Lings will usually inhabit waters from 150-10′  dont be fooled by not thinking they will be shallow.  A lot of my Ling Cod action is in water between 15-30′.

  4.  Gearing up.  I prefer rods rated for 10-30lb  line.  I use stout reels with good drags.  I fish my live bait on dropper rigs.  This consists of a Main line Slider,  3-8oz drop lead with a 10-14″ drop,   bead, Swivel,  5′ of 40-60 lb leader  to a 5-6 0 hook.  For most situations with Shiners I just lip hook the Shiner and drop the gear to the bottom and then reel up a few inches.  I then drift the boat in the areas I am targeting.  I prefer Slack currents, but lings can be caugh on all tides.

 

  Good Luck

 

Capt. Matt

www.tyeecharters.net

Comments
  1. Hi, interesting post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be coming back to your posts. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

