Puget Sound Ling Cod tips and techniques #2

Posted: May 7, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Critical to catching Lings in Puget Sound is the use of live bait.  I prefer Sand Dabs (flounder), Shiner Perch, and Bullhead.  Sand dabs are easily found on the sandy flats around Puget Sound.  I would focus on 40-60′ of water and use small jigs or pile worms, look for Sand dabs in the 5-8″ range.  I use a mootching style rig to hook up the live dabs, a pair of 5/0 hooks through the fins (not the meat or body) I use the same setup with Bullhead.  For the Shiner perch, look for schools around the docks.  I use a subiki style herring jig, this is great for catching multiple shiners.  For Shiners, I use a single 5/0 hook and either hook them through the lips (not through the head or eyes) or through the dorsal fin or tail.  Different hook placement will cause the Shiner to swim differently, so play around with it.  You want a bait with a lot of activity, a dead or lethargic bait will get fewer bites!  For leader I use 3-4′ of  40 – 60lb mono.  I use a drop rig setup with this technique.  You will need a slider, and bead chain swivel on your main line.  Use about 2′ of leader to your drop weight usually a 4-6oz ball. 

  Next step is to find the Lings.  I usually focus on water that is 30-80′  Lings will be found deeper and shallower depending on habitat and structure.  Look for rocks, wrecks, and reefs.  Lings love places to hide, and finding those spots can be half the battle when Ling fishing.  I prefer to drop my baits to the bottom and then reel up just off bottom (half a crank).  Hold the rods still, I prefer to use the rod holders when live bait fishing.  You need to let the Lings eat your bait before setting the hook.  I will either drift the areas or will hold my ground with the use of the motors or anchor. 

 

Good luck,

 

Capt. Matt

www.tyeecharters.net

Comments
  1. Jordan says:

    I hardly leave a response, but i did some searching
    and wound up here Puget Sound Ling Cod tips and techniques #2 | Crippled Herring Report,
    best of Seattle Fishing. And I do have 2 questions for you
    if you usually do not mind. Is it only me or does it appear like some of
    these responses look like they are written by brain dead visitors?

    😛 And, if you are writing at other online social
    sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post.
    Would you make a list of all of your social pages like your linkedin
    profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • captmatt says:

      Jordan, thanks for the nice comments. I do have a FB page Tyee Charters. Feel free to call or send a message anytime. I like to share, it’s what keeps this sport thriving. Sorry for the delay, I just found out I do have some readers:)

      Cheers
      Capt. Matt

Leave a Reply

